College: “Open your door, get to know your floor”

“Open your door!” Signs were posted around the hall. An open door meant meeting people, that’s how it worked. It’s a great idea, but there is definitely a level of awkwardness that goes with it. If someone comes in,  you ask the normal questions, “Where are you from?” “What’s your major?” etc. etc. Then comes the silence… Now don’t get me wrong, I can love the silence. I’m not one of those people who think silence is the worst thing ever, but there is a certain of level of silence that just lingers in awkwardness. When neither person really knows what to say to keep the conversation going. You both glance around the room, thinking about what to talk about. Sometimes it will be resolved quickly, other times…not so much. Granted, I leave my door open quite often, but a little part of me hopes that no one will come and try to socialize with me. The silence can be a little too much.

In my experience so far, I apparently didn’t keep my door open enough. Half of the floor become instafriends, don’t know how or when, but it happened. That’s great! I’m not a part of the group, but to be honest, I don’t care all that much. What I care about is the noise that they cause. It’s fine when they hang out (loudly) in the halls in the afternoon but when 11:30, midnight, or even 1am rolls around…some of us want it a little quieter. My floor tends to be up till rather late at night, yelling in the halls. We have a quiet hour, but it doesn’t seem to be enforced. I remember one specific instance where my roommate and I were drifting off to sleep (it was taking awhile considering the loud talking in the hall) when a loud BANG hit our door. The guy in the room just down the hall was kicking his soccer ball, like usual, and it ran right into our door. Thanks for that Soccer Dude!

Overall, leaving the door open is great if you want to meet people. Just prepare some icebreaker questions. There has to be something to talk about…find it. Stop the silence and become friends…or not. You don’t have to be friends with everyone. ALWAYS remember that. There are just some people you won’t be friends with and that’s okay. Smile and go with the people that will be your friend.(:

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

