College: The Dorm Building of Nightmares

For the sake of privacy, I am not going to mention the name of the University I attend, or the name of any buildings. With that aside, let me tell you about my dorm building. When you tour campus, usually you look at dorms and decide which one is your favorite. This was not the case for me. I never got to see any dorms and I toured the campus three times. This was because, at the time, they were renovating a lot of the buildings. Now let me tell you, my building was built in 1867 and I’m fairly certain that it hasn’t been renovated very much since then, so I don’t know why I couldn’t see but oh well. The point is, I didn’t see it. So this dorm is 18 floors, 16 which of are dorms. We are the most occupied dorm at over 550 students, yet for some reason it’s awful inside. We have three elevators, one of which doesn’t run on the weekends and another which broke three weeks into college (a story that I’ll save for another time) These elevators are already bad enough without only one working. Occasionally, they will skip floors and the one “working” elevator randomly gets stuck at floor 4. (Why floor 4? I don’t even know.) So to catch an elevator takes a little while. The worst part is that I live on the 6th floors, so whenever I say my floor people are silently judging me for not taking the stairs. However, I did take the stairs once. Yeah, never again…

Besides the elevators (which are definitely the worst part) there are just other little things that make living in this dorm more unbearable. Let me list them for you:

Toilet flushing..when the toilets flush, EVERYONE can hear them. You don’t know if it was the floor above you or three below you. They are THAT loud.

The basement…the laundry room is in the basement and you can’t call elevators down there. So you either have to wait for Forever or take the stairs up to the lobby and then wait.

The laundry…so OLD. and that’s all I have to say about that

Location…we are on thee outskirts of campus. All my classes are on the other side of campus and the main dining area is a ten minute walk. (However, I do hatch a lot of Pokémon eggs)

Door locks…we have a key that turns backwards. It’s right to lock instead of left…and also you have to pull on the door for it to work

Fire alarm…within the first week and a half the fire alarm went off twice. Apparantly the third floor had a faulty alarm..but I think it’s fixed now?

In general, this dorm is not the best…

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

