Why I don’t like saying, “I’m Christian.”

*This one might seem a little controversial, but this is just what’s been on my mind lately.*

Growing up, I was “raised in the church”. I always believed that if you looked up “perfect Christians” in the dictionary, my parent’s pictures would be smiling at you. I thought that they were what I was to live up to, and although they still do things that I believe are right, I started to see how many things that were different in what we believed. We are very similar in our Christian walks….

  • We love Jesus
  • We believe he is the One True God
  • We believe in the Bible and what it says
  • We believe we are all sinners

But the older I get, the more I see that those are the few things we actually have in common. Now I believe that my parent’s faces belong right next to the words “stereotypical Christian”. I don’t want my picture along side them.

When I say stereotypical Christian, this is what I mean. It is the picture that people get in their heads when I say “Christian”. Homophobic. Prideful. Holier than thou. As someone has Faith in God, this saddens me. When I say that I am a Christian. I want different words to come to a person’s mind. Loving. Caring. Accepting. But why aren’t those the words people think of?

Christianity refers to “Someone who believes in and follows Jesus Christ” hence the term Christian. If it is as simple as that, then why are there so many different Christians in our world.

Romans 3:23 “For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.”

There lies our answer. We are all sinners. As sinners, we all make mistakes and one of those is putting our own personal spin on the teachings of the Bible. Although we all started with a common stance, we also made our own paths.

This is what I say when I am a Christian. This is what I believe.

*This is where this post is going to become more controversial. If you want to just put your mean opinions on the internet, please search somewhere else. You have been warned.*

As a Christian, I know that I have fallen short. I am nowhere near perfect. I have issues.

Do I believe abortion is a sin? Yes.

Do I believe not being straight is wrong? Yes, sort of. (It’s complicated)

Will I ever not show you love for doing these things? No.

James 2:10-11 “For whoever keeps the whole law but fails in one point has become accountable for all of it. For he who said, “Do not commit adultery,” also said, “Do not murder.” If you do not commit adultery but do murder, you have become a transgressor of the law.”

Matthew 12:31 “Therefore I tell you, every sin and blasphemy will be forgiven people, but the blasphemy against the Spirit will not be forgiven.”

All sins are equal in the eyes of God (except blasphemy against the Spirit). So, can I tell you that you are not loved by God because you had an abortion? Do I have the right to say that you should be unloved because you are part of the LGBTQ+ community? I have no right. In one of my favorite stories of the Bible, a women is pulled out of bed while committing adultery. When the leaders call upon Jesus to stone her (as was the law), Jesus said, “Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her.” Another one of my favorite verses from Matthew 7:1-5 states “Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother’s eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.”

I have started to see many Christians stray from this. We are called to love. When did we lose that mindset? I lied the other day, I deserve to die according to the Old Testament. According to the old laws, everyone should be dead because of their sin. When I condemn you for sinning, I am one dead person damning another. I was not called to judge you, that is for God to decide. I have two missions, to love and to bring more to follow Christ. If I am not loving, then am I really calling you to follow Christ. Why would anyone follow a God whose disciples are unloving? How I present myself represents God. If God is Love, then I too shall show love. If God is Peace, then I will be a peacekeeper. Will I screw up? Of course. Mark 2:17 “And when Jesus heard it, he said to them, “Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. I came not to call the righteous, but sinners.”” I need God just as much as anyone else.

So, long story short, I don’t like telling people that I am a Christian because society has created a negative opinion of Christians. I want them to see my love and so when I tell them of the one who gave me that love, God, they will understand what it truly means to be a Christian. I’m not one to judge you for your sins, that is not my job. I am just hear to show you love and acceptance. And well, that’s my opinion.

~Charlie Pond~

One thought on “Why I don’t like saying, “I’m Christian.”

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

